THE INBETWEENERS MOVIE

6 out of 10

Release Date: 17th August 2011

Director: Ben Palmer (Man Up)

Cast: Simon Bird, James Buckley, Joe Thomas, Blake Harrison, Emily Head, Laura Haddock, Theo James, Lydia Rose Bewley, Tamla Kari, Theo Barklem-Biggs, Belinda Stewart-Wilson, David Schaal, Alexander Macqueen, Henry Lloyd-Hughes with Greg Davies and Anthony Head

Writer: Iain Morris & Damon Beesley

Trailer: THE INBETWEENERS MOVIE

images-3I still haven’t seen the complete third series of The Inbetweeners but it still has the ability to make me laugh like an idiot and repeat the jokes for about a day to anyone I run into. It really is such a well written series and I was a bit flummoxed when I first saw the trailer. I was waiting for the laughs but none appeared.  After it was released at the pictures I didn’t rush out to see it (my missus is not a fan) and I knew it would be packed to the gills. I think it was one of the biggest money makers at the UK box office in 2011.  When I finally went to see it I was surprised to find how few belly laughs there were compared to the series.  It seemed to have a quarter of the number of jokes of the standard half hour episode.  Shame.  Maybe it was first movie jitters for most concerned so here’s to a better and bolder sequel.

The movie expands the four born idiots universe when they decide to go on holiday to lose their virginity on an Ibiza -like party island.  Loads of misadventures ensue.  Joe Thomas’ love Carli D’Amato is on the same island so is oblivious when a hottie takes a shine to him.  The boys argue, fall out over tickets to a rave on a boat and have numerous sexual mishaps along the way.

I was hoping for more of the same stupidity from the series but a lot of the japery seemed to staged and unnatural.  A lot of the situations were way more outlandish and eccentric than those everyday f*ck ups that occur in the series.  Its a shame really as there is a lot of mileage in their life stories.  Fingers crossed the incoming sequel is much better and returns to familiar settings and the great supporting cast from the series, which is greatly missed or wasted in the film.

4 out 10 – There’s fun to be had, but this movie isn’t a patch on the series. Good jokes are thin on the ground. They should’ve called this THINBETWEENERS.

WHAT HAVE I SEEN THAT PERSON IN BEFORE?

Leave a Reply

